Faculty and Staff Receive Awards - Spring 2003 Ivy Leaf Magazine

Ivy Leaf - Spring 2003

Faculty and Staff Receive Awards

Lee Ann De Reus, assistant professor of human development and family studies and women's studies at Penn State Altoona, received the 2003 George W. Atherton Award for Excellence in Teaching. De Reus joined the faculty at Penn State Altoona in 1997. As an assistant professor of human development and family studies and women's studies, she strives to help students develop empathy for individuals different from themselves. Following the terrorist attacks in 2001, for example, she led her students in planning a campus/community response. Her students planned a unity rally, which focused on the importance of tolerance, understanding of the Muslim faith and suggestions for coping with anger. She constantly seeks out ways to integrate students' experiences in the classroom with their daily lives. She involves students in conference presentations and engages them in various community and humanitarian service projects, including an annual spring break trip to work at an orphanage in the Dominican Republic. The award, named after Penn State's seventh president, was established in 1989 as a continuation of the AMOCO Foundation Award. It honors excellence in teaching at the undergraduate level. For further information about the award, visit http://www.psu.edu/ur/2003/atherton03.html.

Athleen Stere (associate professor of biology) has been selected as the recipient of the 2003 YWCA Tribute to Women Award in the category of education. She was nominated by Tom Liszka and Valerie Stratton.

Victor Brunsden (assistant professor of mathematics) and Roselyn Constantino (associate professor of Spanish and women's studies) were recipients of the 2003 Penn State Altoona Grace D. Long Faculty Excellence Award. The Grace D. Long Award was created to recognize two faculty members who, by their performance as teachers and their work in the areas of advising, scholarship, research, and service, demonstrate excellence in their profession.

Harriet Gaston (DUS minority programs coordinator), Barb Brunhuber (faculty staff assistant), and Deb Shelow (janitorial worker) were recipients of the 2003 Penn State Altoona Ted J. Long Staff Excellence Award. The Ted J. Long Award was created to recognize one administrator, one staff assistant, and one technical service worker who, by their job performance, exhibit outstanding professionalism, dedication, and enthusiasm in support of the College.

Maureen Ramey (part-time instructor in mathematics) received the 2003 Part Time Faculty Outstanding Lecturer Award.

John Lennox (professor of microbiology) received the first Athleen Stere Teaching Award. This award was created to recognize excellence in teaching and learning as exemplified by Dr. Athleen Stere. The award includes a plaque, a box of colored chalk, and $500 towards the funding of teaching and learning activities and/or research.

Karyn McKinney (assistant professor of sociology) was recognized as an Alpha Phi Sigma Honorary Member.

Celebrating his Twenty-Five Year Award in 2003 was William G. Engelbret (head, division of business and engineering)

Retiring from Penn State Altoona this year were Thomas G. Campbell (assistant professor of chemistry) and Carl B. Hurd (assistant professor of mathematics).

The Pennsylvania State University Commission for Women's Achieving Woman Award for faculty for 2003 was bestowed on Lori J. Bechtel (division of education, human development and social sciences; professor of biobehavioral health). This most prestigious, University-wide award is given annually to one outstanding faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding leadership at Penn State and who has contributed significantly to the University through leadership and mentoring, as well as for her achievements in teaching, research, and service.